what gauge wire for VDO gauges?

General support category.
Post Reply
User avatar
Super_Randy
Get off my lawn.
Posts: 1459
Joined: June 11th, 2017, 10:41 pm
Location: lurking behind you

what gauge wire for VDO gauges?

im in the early stages of wiring up some VDO gauges (oil pressure, oil temp, volts) and am wondering what gauge wire is recommended for the job. iv done some googling and can't fine anything discernible. thinking of playing it safe and just using 18 gauge sense i think that's what most of the car is wired in.

thoughts?
opinions?
experiences?
you never learn nothin by mistake if you're to careful
User avatar
schwim
Site Admin
Posts: 1500
Joined: November 6th, 2013, 4:16 pm
Location: Coastal VA, US
Contact:

Re: what gauge wire for VDO gauges?

I know that VDO suggests a minimum of 16ga for sending unit connections. You could use smaller for illuminations circuits though.
User avatar
Super_Randy
Get off my lawn.
Posts: 1459
Joined: June 11th, 2017, 10:41 pm
Location: lurking behind you

Re: what gauge wire for VDO gauges?

how about for power from fusebox to gauge?
you never learn nothin by mistake if you're to careful
User avatar
schwim
Site Admin
Posts: 1500
Joined: November 6th, 2013, 4:16 pm
Location: Coastal VA, US
Contact:

Re: what gauge wire for VDO gauges?

Super_Randy wrote: February 19th, 2023, 11:19 pm how about for power from fusebox to gauge?
Like an amp or volt meter? VDO states a minimum of 10ga for that application.
User avatar
Super_Randy
Get off my lawn.
Posts: 1459
Joined: June 11th, 2017, 10:41 pm
Location: lurking behind you

Re: what gauge wire for VDO gauges?

ill hook up the volt gauge at a later date. im mostly interested in making the oil pressure gauge work. there are 3 terminals on the gauge (excluding the light) a sensor terminal, a ground terminal, and a power terminal that i believe gets power from an auxiliary terminal on the fusebox so the gauge gets power when key is in the on position. need to know what gauge wire would be needed for the fusebox to gauge connection. i can't imagine the amp draw on the gauge would require more than 18. but sense i just ordered a spool of 16 gauge SAE spec wire ill probably just use that.

also assuming 20 gauge should work for the lights in the gauges sense they should be a really low amp draw.
you never learn nothin by mistake if you're to careful
Post Reply